|
|
 Rank: Martian Estate Agent
Joined: 9/14/2003 Posts: 3,278 Location: United Kingdom
|
Most of you who use MSN have probly got those anoying chain mails thats have poor grammer and are apperently from 'Bill Gates'. Most of these e-mails say that MSN is shutting down and if you don't forward the message you account will be remove. Do you think this is true? Reasons for it to be fakeIt's chain mail, if it was real it would come from staff@msn.com right? MSN knows who is using there account, they don't need people to forward a message like 100 times to all there contacts. MSN makes loads of money from banners and MSN adverts. Reasons might be realIt's be reported on the BBC website that 'Microsoft is reportedly planning to start charging surfers for the improved services of its MSN internet portal., You can view the page yourself http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/business/1189119.stm That url looks real. When you look at that news page keep in mind, The page is unlike normal BBC News pages. Everyone knows about Windows and MSN comes installed on the damn machine. This could be a way to advertise MSN and windows to more people. It's up to you to make your own mind up...though i will not forward that chain mail :)
|
|
Rank: Larger than Life
Joined: 11/15/2003 Posts: 1,647 Location: United Kingdom
|
All a load of tosh, click that link to the news article you put up.
Look at the date it was written (above the bold headline) Sunday, 25 February, 2001, 11:00 GMT.
|
|
 Rank: Martian Estate Agent
Joined: 9/14/2003 Posts: 3,278 Location: United Kingdom
|
LOL, I missed that, Looks like this was just to advertise MSN a bit more then LOL.
|
|
 Rank: Admin
Joined: 8/26/2002 Posts: 3,218 Location: United Kingdom
|
Regardless of what Microsoft is planning, then, now or in the future. If they require MSN users to do something, they will email them directly. Chain mail will never ever be used as a means to pass on service announcements, not by any company.
|
|
 Rank: Martian Estate Agent
Joined: 9/14/2003 Posts: 3,278 Location: United Kingdom
|
I agree, It's just not done.
Though i have heard of chain mail advertisement.
|
|
 Rank: Martian Estate Agent
Joined: 9/14/2003 Posts: 3,278 Location: United Kingdom
|
Oh, BBC has just posted a new story, http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/business/4778046.stmLooks like it was just some scammers using old articles to get the pointless e-mail sent to the world.
|
|
Rank: Newbie
Joined: 7/14/2006 Posts: 1
|
Dear the concerned,
These letters with the rumors that Msn Messenger will be charging money for use of our network, by November 1'st are completely fake. Our Msn network will not be charging money or deleting users. Our servers will remain up and running, so there are no threats to be worried about.
Thank you,
Sincerely;
An Msn Directory Board Member,
------------------------------------------------
Cher tous les intéressés,
Ces lettres avec les rumeurs que le Msn Messenger chargera l'argent pour l'usage de notre réseau, en le 1er novembre sont faux. Notre Msn Company ne chargera pas l'argent ou ne supprimera pas des utilisateurs. Nos serveurs resteront en service, tellement là ne sont aucune menace à inquiéter pour.
Merci,
Sincèrement ;
Un Membre du Msn Directory,
|
|
 Rank: Martian Estate Agent
Joined: 9/14/2003 Posts: 3,278 Location: United Kingdom
|
LOL, A random bot got this forum good :P Steive add something to stop those damn bots!
I got an e-mail like this, but from the bbc.
|
|
 Rank: Admin
Joined: 8/26/2002 Posts: 3,218 Location: United Kingdom
|
too targetted to be a bot (and no gain to be had from it), probably someone having a laugh
|
|
 Rank: Martian Estate Agent
Joined: 9/14/2003 Posts: 3,278 Location: United Kingdom
|
That person has the weirdest sense of humor.
|
|
Rank: Larger than Life
Joined: 11/15/2003 Posts: 1,647 Location: United Kingdom
|
If Microsoft have an office in Halifax, then I guess that post could be legit lol.
Got to love IP's, greatest invention since...a lot of things.
|
|
 Rank: Martian Estate Agent
Joined: 9/14/2003 Posts: 3,278 Location: United Kingdom
|
You traced it back to the address of the poster or of the company? I'm guessing it was a fake if BigB says it's in halifax :)
I'm sure Halifax is a bank or somthing?
|
|
 Rank: Really is a pirate
Joined: 7/15/2003 Posts: 2,718 Location: United Kingdom
|
quote: Originally posted by rogeman
You traced it back to the address of the poster or of the company? I'm guessing it was a fake if BigB says it's in halifax :)
I'm sure Halifax is a bank or somthing?
... woosh
|
|
Rank: Larger than Life
Joined: 11/15/2003 Posts: 1,647 Location: United Kingdom
|
quote: Originally posted by rogeman
You traced it back to the address of the poster or of the company? I'm guessing it was a fake if BigB says it's in halifax :)
I'm sure Halifax is a bank or somthing?
oh dear Halifax is a place. I wasn't referring to the bank
|
|
 Rank: Martian Estate Agent
Joined: 9/14/2003 Posts: 3,278 Location: United Kingdom
|
Were is it? Is there a Halifax there?
|
|
Rank: Larger than Life
Joined: 11/15/2003 Posts: 1,647 Location: United Kingdom
|
quote: Originally posted by rogeman
Were is it? Is there a Halifax there?
Cannot beleive you have not heard of Halifax! Its up north like, near Manchester area. I assume there is a Halifax in Halifax, its a rather big place.
|
|
 Rank: Really is a pirate
Joined: 7/15/2003 Posts: 2,718 Location: United Kingdom
|
It's quite near Bradford.
|
|
 Rank: L3: Swoj-fan
Joined: 8/15/2003 Posts: 782 Location: United Kingdom
|
Don't you mean Bradistan?
Halifax is a place dumbass. MS probably have offices in lots of places BigBrennan. Still the guy could be using a proxy based in Halifax. I'm sure that could be done...
And why the french? XD
|
|
 Rank: Really is a pirate
Joined: 7/15/2003 Posts: 2,718 Location: United Kingdom
|
Bradford is probably the most known town near Halifax. Although I'm not too sure.
|
|
 Rank: Martian Estate Agent
Joined: 9/14/2003 Posts: 3,278 Location: United Kingdom
|
Mircosoft's European HQ is in reading.
|
|
|
Guest |